All the things above the cut are spoiler FREE.

I’ve been excited for this movie since it was first announced. The fact that it focused on the villians and anti-heroes was a big plus for me, but also the fact that it had characters I Suicide_Squad_Movie's_Posterknew a lot about and ones I didn’t.Although I tried not to get my hopes up too much, with every teaser, trailer, poster, and such that were released I found myself looking more and more forward to it.

One thing I’m happy about is the fact that I chose to deliberately avoid reviews. Knowing that not everyone liked it helped to keep my expectations in check, but I still went to the cinema excited to sit down and watch it. I’ll be the first to admit that it has it’s issues, but overall I genuinely enjoyed Suicide Squad. If you like these characters (or you’re intrigued by them) then you’ll love this movie, if you like comics and DC and anti-heroes/villians, then I also think you’ll love this movie.

 

As I said above, it’s not perfect, and here are some examples (don’t worry, I’ll get to the good stuff!):

  • The pacing and order was a little off – at the beginning I felt like it jumped around a lot, and it took a while to really settle into the main storyline. The contrast between having so much going on in the beginning, and then just the main storyline in the end, really stuck out at me.
  • A lot of great characters in the squad didn’t get as much focus. Some of them had great lines and awesome moments, but those things were rare. The overall screentime for each one wasn’t terrible. You do see each memeber a fair amount, I just think some of them maybe deserved some extra lines, or a moment where it was solely on them.
  • The editing was a bit much for me in places. This is more of a personal preference. The best way I can describe it is to say that there were “overlays” of colour (pinks and greens or blues) over certain scenes/flashbacks. They were done in a way where the colour was bright but transparent enough to see through. For me personally it was kind of distracting and I didn’t particularly like it, but I get the feeling that a lot of people would have loved it.

Honestly those were my major points. There were some little issues here and there, but nothing worth mentioning.

That all being said, here are some things I loved about it! These are all spoiler free.

  • The. Characters. Are. So. Amazing. Honestly, I fell more in love with characters I already knew, and I quickly fell in love with ones I didn’t really know about prior to this movie. Like I said, some characters don’t get as much attention as they should, but I found myself forming a connection with even those characters.
  • The music is very fun. A lot of it is very approprirate (the Eminem song if anyone has seen it!) and I found myself bobbing my head and singing the words (in my head of course, don’t want to disrupt anyone!).
  • The chemistry between the squad was pretty on point. My only complaint? I wanted more! I loved their interactions so much. There were so many times of building each other up and this sense of connection, but none of it took away from the fact that they’re the bad guys.

582897093_1280x720

I just genuinely enjoyed this movie. It wasn’t perfect, but it had a lot of good bits that I really appreciated and loved.

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★

If you haven’t seen it, I definitely recommend giving it a try! If you have seen it (or simply don’t care about spoilers) then feel free to read on to see some other things I liked about it.

SPOILERS BELOW

  • I’m not sure if this counts a spoiler, but Captain Boomerang’s little unicorn teddy was everything I hoped for. I was interested from the moment I spotted it in the trailer and I was not dissapointed. There was a moment, after a huge fight, where he found it lying on the ground, picked it up, whispered it’s name, and tucked it into his jacket. It was the funniest and cutest thing.
  • Deadshot, the best, most accurate killshot ever, deliberately missing when he was told to kill Harley Quinn and basically just saying “oops, I missed” afterwards when everyone knows damn well he could have made the shot.
  • Talking about Harley, that girl always came so close to stealing the whole show! I think they got her pretty perfectly to be honest, and I loved seeing her descent into madness and how she went from being Harleen Quinzel to Harley Quinn. Seeing how the Joker played a part in that was very interesting.
  • I personally wasn’t that blown away by this version of the Joker, I just wasn’t sure about his style and way of speaking and so on, however, I will say that Jared Leto did a prety good job bringing that kind of Joker to life. And although it’s not my favourite version, it was certaintly an interesting one.
  • Enchantress blew my mind! I only wished she had gotten more screen time, and also that June had more time as well. I feel like Enchantress looked amazing, but also her character was very interesting, she did what she had to to survive, and I actually wasn’t expecting her to be the main storyline, I was expecting something to go wrong with her (keeping something/someone as powerful as that under control is bound to go wrong), but I wasn’t expecting her to break free so early. At first it worried me, but overall I think it worked.
  • El Diablo’s end was done so well. I loved how he truly stepped into his power in order to help his friends and save the world. Seeing his transformation was so fantastic, and that transformation along with Enchantress and her brother were so beautifully done in terms of visuals. Although I’m sad, and maybe even a little disapointed, that El Diablo’s story eneded with his death, I do think it was a wonderful scene to see him come into his powers.
  • That final moment in the battle with Harley! When you thought she was going to give herself over I was concerned, I didn’t think it was something she would really fall for, and it seemed so clear that it wouldn’t end well, but that moment where you saw the blade on the floor I just knew and it was perfect. It was another beautiful example of the squad caring for each other in some way.
  • The squad in general were amazing. There was a moment where each showed they cared about Harley in someway. I liked how Deadshot cradled her in his arms when he helped her off the car (their entire friendship is very entertaining!) and after Captain Boomerang calls her “craziness” (or something similar) and gives her back her bat. And the other members (Killer Croc, El Diablo) show/say that they’re glad she’s back. It was one of my favourite scenes.
  • There was also the emotional moment where they found out about El Diablo killing his family, as well as their reactions to Deadshot aiming up to take the shot at Harley, and then deliberately missing.
  • But saying all of the above in the moment wiht El Diablo, when Harley kind of oversteps the line and is admittedly a little harsh. People like Captain Boomerang weren’t afraid to shut her down and go off against her. It showed they had become friends, family even, but at the end of the day they’re villians and that still stands.

Anyway, I could ramble on forever about this. This wasn’t even half of what I liked, but just some of the ones that stuck in my mind for a long time. I hope you enjoyed the movie too! If there’s anything you loved feel free to talk to me about in the comments, just be careful about spoilers for those who maybe haven’t seen it yet!

