This weeks episode was a character centric one, and the character we get to focus on is Tara. I’m personally beyond relieved about that because it has a been a while since we last saw her, and we know that she hasn’t got any idea what happened to Glenn or Abraham, or even Denise. She only knows their plan to kill the Saviors didn’t work because she’s told by another character, Cindie, that they’re still around. Overall I did enjoy this episode, mostly because I love Tara so much, but it has left me wondering about some things.

Untitled-2.png

Heath. Is he okay? We’re assuming he got away in some kind of vehicle, but we don’t know for sure and we haven’t seen him. Hopefully he isn’t left to one side for too long, it’s already been a long time since we last saw him and now we know Tara is alive and made it safely back to Alexandria, I want to know if Heath is safe too.

The new community we were introduced to was interesting. I don’t think we’ve seen one quite like them yet, and I really don’t think this is the last we’ll see of them. Tara doesn’t reveal where she’d been when Rosita asks where she might find guns and ammo, but Tara clearly hesitates as she thumbs her bracelet. That, coupled with Tara’s suggestion that Alexandria and this new community team up, makes me think that they’ll be dragged back into it and will team up with not only Alexandria, but Hill Top and the Kingdom too. I don’t see them getting rid of Negan too quickly, but whether it be this season or next season, I feel like they’re building to the idea of bringing all the communities together. Even if this doesn’t happen I want to see more of Cindie, she was an interesting character and I feel like it’s a waste not to have her back.

When Tara does finally get back to Alexandria we see a glimpse of her after she’s found out about everything that’s happened. I hope that’s not it. Her girlfriend, a man who was like a brother to her, and her friend were all killed, and not in the nicest of ways. The Walking Dead does sometimes skim over the aftermaths of character deaths, but Tara has been vacant for three of them and I really think we deserve more screen time of her mourning for the people she’s lost. Even if it’s just something simple like her visiting Denise’s grave and saying a few words or spending a few moments there in silence. Just something that lasts longer than a quick scene at the end of the episode.

Overall I quite liked this episode, but I feel like that has a lot to do with the fact that Tara is a favourite for me. I can safely say I would have loved the episode either way, but I most likely enjoyed it more because it’s someone I care about. Personally I think these simpler episodes that have less action are much better, and it’s just going to make those more climatic and dramatic episodes more interesting.

I’m enjoying this season a lot more than I thought I would, and I actually can’t wait for next week’s episode. Let me know what you thought of this weeks episode below!

