Featured Image: The Crown [Netflix]

After how good episode 9 was, I was a little let down by the finale. So much so that I found my concentration drifting sometimes.

I was saddened to see how Peter and Margaret’s relationship ended although I wasn’t too surprised. Their scenes were some of the best in the finale and one of the things that really saved it. We know it’s been years and it was clear how desperately they wanted to get married and their reunion helped to show how the absence had made them feel.

The other thing I really loved to see was the pact that Elizabeth and Margaret made when they were kids. It really explained why Elizabeth was so determined to help her sister marry. It’s always enjoyable to see flashbacks because they’re never very long but they provide a lot of information and come just when you need them. I did wonder why Elizabeth was adamant, so willing to tear herself apart, to do her duty as Queen but still keep her sister happy. The flashback really provided that information and made her decision more understandable.

Those things were really the only good parts of the finale. The scenes between Anthony and Elizabeth were also very interesting, although his other scenes were a little weak. I do wish we didn’t see him as prime minister until next season because it was a little jarring to have just one episode with him in the role after spending the whole of the season with Churchill.

The rest of the episode was good, but by the standards already set from the rest of the season, they weren’t quite on par. I really hope it picks up again in season 2 but based on what we’ve seen from the show so far, I’m really looking forward to the next season.

